Just a little worried

There has been some amount of culture shock going from a huge multi-national corporation to a tiny 10-person family run start-up company. Here, there’s no employee manual, no complete job description, and no discernible politics. These are good things.

But, its scary being in a company that is rather fragile, on uneven footing. Especially in times like these. My chosen industry, hospitality and travel, is also somewhat volatile. The current economic climate is definitely playing a part in our day-to-day operation. It might make us a stronger organization in the end…. or we may be taken under with the tide. It’s too early to tell.

I know this: I do not want to be unemployed in New York City again. If I were to lose my job, I would have to wage a major campaign with Damir to move elsewhere. But where would we go?

Here are my top choices– in no particular order:

  • Chicago: My mom’s hometown and a fantastic city. But winters…. ugh.
  • Seattle or Portland: Would be nice to be close to my nieces as they get older… but its so far from Damir’s family, my parents and my sister.
  • The Carolinas: I think I am a southern girl at heart. And my parents are down in that direction.
  • Boston, or any major city in New England: give me a clam bake on any day and I am a happy girl.

Damir says he would leave NYC, but I think that would be pretty hard for him. For a long long long time before he came here, he dreamed about coming to New York. And he finally got what he wanted and loves it here. He has a huge family and cultural network all around New York, which just is irreplaceable elsewhere.

But each time we have traveled together to a new city… the Carolinas, Boston, even Texas, he looks around and says, “Yeah, I could live here too”. Maybe. I guess the thought of staying in only one city, any city or place, for the rest of my life makes me uncomfortable. I have gotten used to moving to a new place every 5 years or so. I like the exploration.

Anyway. I don’t really think I am going to lose my job. Not yet, at least. But just to be as safe as possible, I am trying to make myself as indispensable as I can be.

2 thoughts on “Just a little worried

Leave a Reply

